My SDF story with Rossana Espinoza

by Rossana Espinoza 0

My SDF story with Rossana Espinoza



Where do you work and what is your role?

I work at Middlesex University as an Online Content Developer for the Centre for Academic Practice Enhancement.


When did you join the SDF?

In 2013, when I joined Westminster University, my line manager recommended her entire team join the SDF. To this date, some of us are still involved.


Why did you want to join the SDF?

I had changed my field of work, moving from being lecturer in Business at Coventry University to staff learning and development at Westminster University, so having access to a network of professional support had an appeal. In previous roles, I had managed networks so I experienced that they are a useful and fun thing to get involved.


What’s the best thing about the SDF?

I like that there is a group of specialists in the field I could ask questions openly. When I was developing an online course on the Prevent legislation, with a colleague at Westminster University, it was useful to be part of the discussions about this in the SDF London region network meetings.

As SDF marketing and comms officer, I feel supported to follow my interests and instincts in Communications, Marketing and Social Media to enhance the profile of the SDF. Also, I met the amazing colleagues from #CoachingHE, with whom I run a monthly Twitter chat to support coaches across the UK. All which I am grateful for.


What are you working on at the moment?

I am developing an online course for students on Academic Integrity Awareness with two colleagues. I am supporting a specialist interest group that is investigating how to use Virtual Reality environments to support students experiencing performance anxiety. I am supporting a colleague in using social media to develop nursing students professionalism.


What does a typical day look like?

Thankfully, I do work from home a lot. So, when I go to the office, I do my best being there. I attend meetings to further projects, I meet colleagues to explore and develop ideas. When I work from home, I  research and write case studies to support learning and teaching professionals. I develop intranet pages to support the exchange of knowledge on pedagogies at the university.


Tell us about an event that altered the course of your life/and career

Meeting my PhD supervisor at Warwick University. In addition to the quality of his outstanding supervision and teachings, he has been like a father in the UK for me. He and his partner welcomed me like a daughter, which I needed being so far from home.


The person who has influenced you the most is

My parents nurtured my love for learning and travelling. I owe my mum my love for the English language. She worked as social worker at a university for more than 25 years. She cared lots about others. I owe my dad my love for the satisfaction of a job well done. They gave me a loving and well balanced childhood.  They did not only do well for themselves. They helped others along the way.


Work life balance – what leisure activity you enjoy the most?

Doodling and Sketchnoting. Cooking. Gardening in my flat!


Something about you people would find surprising

That I am from Peru.


What’s your greatest fear?

Exceedingly large crowds in London Euston Station and the tube.


Who would you invite to your dream dinner party?

I’d invite friends from the past. I’d like to revive our friendship.


What would your super-power be?

Teleportation. It would save time on the commute to London.


What’s your favourite/least favourite food?

Rice and potato. In Peru, we love having those with other lovely stuff around.


What’s the worst job you ever had?

I worked for a Market Research Company based in Royal Leamington Spa in 2002, for which I had to conduct phone interviews. I disliked having to repeat the same script every time. I met great people in the job though.


What thing would improve the quality of your life?

Taking up some kind of exercise.


What’s coming next for you?

Making Christmas cards for my friends and family. Getting round to do my Advent Calendar, hopefully I will finish before February!